Skip to main content

San Diego Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO)

San Diego LAFCO logo

There are 91 special districts in San Diego County responsible for providing over 15 different types of services within both the incorporated and unincorporated portions of the County.  The services provided vary depending upon the needs of particular communities, available finances, anticipated population growth, and service demands.

Beginning in in 2001, LAFCOs throughout California became responsible for evaluating how well services are provided by local agencies.

Join our mailing list